Canada GAA has been making quiet but steady strides in growing new clubs in the past number of years. Some 24 affiliated clubs are spread across this vast country with Canada GAA split into three divisions - Western, Eastern and Toronto. The huge distances, incorporating five time zones, present a huge challenge for any County board.

In 2014, Canada GAA formed a new division, Eastern Canada, with the first ever Eastern Canadian Championships taking place that year. Recently a new Club in Prince Edward Island joined the Division. In the Toronto GAA season every year it is a battle for league and championship honours both in men’s and ladies football, along with hurling.The majority of the teams have an Irish player base though several of the ladies teams have a more local and mixed look. The Toronto season runs May through September. There also has been growth in the Western Division with the newly formed Winnipeg Trinity joining the division and competing for the Western Canadian Championships.

There is also a seasonal league in Vancouver. The Eastern and Western Division has games in Hurling, Football and Camogie, with junior and senior teams challenging for the various titles. Eastern Canada are the Western Canada Championships, the Alberta Cup and the Vancouver League.

Founded: 1987

Club Numbers: 24

Major Competitions: Toronto League & Championships, Eastern Canadian Championships and Western Canadian Championships


Calgary Chieftains

Clann Na Gael Hurling

Durham Robert Emmets

Edmonton Wolfe Tones

Fraser Valley Gaels

Halifax Gaels

Les Patriotes de Quebec

Montreal Shamrock

Na Piarsaigh Clg

Ottawa Eire Og

Ottawa Gaels


Red Deer Éire Óg

Regina Gaels GAA

Roger Casements

St Johns Avalon Harps

St Michaels Hurling and Football Club

St Pats GAA

St Vincents GAA

Toronto Camogie Club

Toronto Chieftains

Toronto Gaels GFC

Vancouver ISSC

Winnipeg Trinity